Mark Gilbert's Blog

Science and technology, served light and fluffy.

WPF Media Player Released

I’ve posted Version 0.1 of the Windows Presentation Foundation (WPF) Media Player.  The version number “0.1” understates the capabilities of the player a bit, but I’ve decided to keep with my standard of numbering the first released version of any incomplete piece of software as 0.1.

All of the source code for the player has been posted, and there is a Readme.txt file included with the archive that explains what currently works, and what is coming in a later release.

I wanted to get this version out there now (instead of waiting until it was “complete”) because I am planning a 2-part series for the Microsoft Developers of Southwest Michigan user’s group on the player, the first of which is this Thursday on WPF animations.  The second part will be on LINQ to XML (since the underlying data store for the player is XML currently), and has yet to be scheduled.

I am also planning several blog posts discussing various aspects of the player for the next few weeks, so check back frequently.

As always, please let me know what you think.

February 25, 2008 - Posted by | Visual Studio/.NET, WPF/Silverlight

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

