Mark Gilbert's Blog

Science and technology, served light and fluffy.

Tools and Toys Update

I’ve moved the source code for the WPF Media Player to CodePlex: http://codeplex.com/WPFMediaPlayer.  Currently the Player sits at version 0.1, but I’ve been working on a version 0.2 for a while now.  Ok, I was working on it earlier this year, and it’s been sitting dormant for a while now.  Ahem.  That should be changing in another week or so.  I’m wrapping up a personal project of mine, and then I focus on a handful of programming projects that I’ve been putting off for a while – this being one of them.

The WPF Media Player is actually the second project I’ve moved to CodePlex – the first being NAntRunner, now hosted at http://codeplex.com/nantrunner.  I have an update in mind for NAntRunner as well, which would bring it up to version 0.3.  Hopefully that will be posted in the next month or so.

Now that I’ve moved these to CodePlex, I’ve been thinking about the other items still hosted on my Tools and Toys page:

  • The SSMS Scripter seems like a natural to post there, so that one will probably be next to move.  I have an update in mind for that one as well, but it’s not clear to me how to go about making it.  I’ll have to give it some more thought first.
  • In the four months since I wrote and started using String Cleaning, I’ve found it to be eminently useful, but the core of the application is the one line of source described in this post.  I can’t really see it changing all that much, so I don’t think that’s worth setting up a new project for.  I have considered porting it to a PowerShell script (which would hopefully decrease the cold-start time), but that’s pretty low on the priority list at the moment.
  • One-Three Back Solitaire hasn’t changed in years, and it was really my learning application for Test-Driven Development.  At this point I don’t think that will move over either.  If I ever decided to add on to it (write a web-based leader board using WCF, or something like that) I’d probably move it over first, just to simplify things.

There you have it.  I’ll keep you posted on progress on these projects, and I’d love to hear your feedback on what you find useful, and what you’d like to see in future releases.

August 23, 2008 - Posted by | SQL Server, Tools and Toys, WPF/Silverlight

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

