Mark Gilbert's Blog

Science and technology, served light and fluffy.

The end is… not so near.

I hit a fun one today.  I received a meeting invitation for January 21, 2010.  I casually clicked on the “Calendar” button in Outlook to bring up my schedule for that day.  I was greeted with the following:

Calendar

Um.

Wow.

I closed that view and checked the meeting invite again.  No, it was definitely this millennium.

I clicked “Calendar” again, thinking it was a fluke.  August 31, 4500 came up again.  I tried clicking one of the September dates – no dice.  I could back up to July 4500, though.  So apparently, August 31, 4500 is the max date in Outlook.  Now for the really fun part.  I accepted the meeting.  If clicking “Calendar” jumped me 2500 years into the future, what would accepting it do?

Well, obviously it put it on my calendar for January 21.

Sigh.

Such a let down.  I really wanted to give my project manager crap for going a little around the bend when it came to proactive planning.  Way, WAY around the bend.

But hey, good thing we found this Y4-1/2k issue when we did.  As soon as we’re done dealing with the monolith this year, and the end of the UNIX world in 2038, we can get cracking on this one.

January 7, 2010 - Posted by | General

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

