Mark Gilbert's Blog

Science and technology, served light and fluffy.

“Parodied Lines” goes to the next level

On a relatively recent car trip, my wife and I got into a brainstorming session about the “Parodied Lines” series that I had started up back in August – movie lines that I can modify to have a programming bent or pun.  We kept coming up with lines that really needed a visual element to convey the joke – text just wasn’t enough – and that led us down the path of “what if ‘Parodied Lines’ became a web comic?”

That led me to recall the character that I created way back in 2007 when I was playing with iGoogle’s banner themes.

_Assets

Since I did that theme I really wanted to find another way to showcase this guy.  Having a web comic where I (usually) parody movie lines seemed like a good fit, especially since having a visual medium to play in will open up the possibilities for me in the lines – and now scenes – that I parody.  While the series is as yet unnamed, that will be the general theme. Update: I decided to parody many methods used in .NET, and am titling this series “ToComic”.

So, without further ado, I present a parody of a line from this movie.

001 - Pirates of the Compiler

December 16, 2010 - Posted by | Try Catch Finally

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

