Mark Gilbert's Blog

Science and technology, served light and fluffy.

Kalamazoo X Conference 2011

It’s hard to believe it’s been 3 years already.

3 years ago today I, along with a passionate group of my fellow organizers, were neck deep trying to make the first Kalamazoo X Conference fly.  We wanted to put on a different kind of conference, one that focused not on technology and tools, but on everything else that goes into making a great software developer, software architect, or technical manager: soft skills, personal branding, networking, dealing with change, and so on.

We weren’t sure if people would “get” it.  We were worried about the turnout – and then we got a nearly-packed room.  We were worried about the format, a single track conference where everyone sees and hears everyone – and it worked brilliantly on several levels.  We were worried about so many different things, and the conference was just plain awesome.

The passion continued at last year’s conference.  I personally walked away with several new ideas and perspectives on my craft, some of which I implemented at my company.  I know I wasn’t alone.

And now, we’re at year 3.

Join me on Saturday, April 30 for the 3rd Annual Kalamazoo X Conference, being held at the downtown campus of Kalamazoo Valley Community College, Kalamazoo, Michigan.  We’ve got a great lineup of people again this year, so get registered. For more information, check us out at http://KalamazooX.org.

April 14, 2011 - Posted by | General, Kalamazoo X Conference

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

