Mark Gilbert's Blog

Science and technology, served light and fluffy.

New hardware – 3.5” Floppy Drive

I think I now have the (somewhat dubious) honor of being possibly the only person on the planet who is running Windows 7…

With an internal 3.5″ floppy disk drive.

Resized

There she is.  My new “A” drive:

Windows Explorer

Why you ask?

I needed to pull several old files off an old computer (I think it was solidly a teenager) running an even older operating system – Windows 95.  The machine had no network card, did not support USB, and had a CD-ROM – emphasis on the “Read-Only”.  The 3.5” floppy on that machine worked fine, and I had a small number of disks for it.  I had a spare floppy drive sitting around, so I thought I’d try that first.

When I opened my primary machine, to my great astonishment I found that the ASUS motherboard in it actually had a legacy floppy controller.  I plugged the drive in, and it recognized it immediately.  I proceeded to transfer the files off the old machine, circa 1993 sneaker-mail.

Now, off-hand, do you remember what a 3.5” floppy drive in use sounds like?  Well, for your listening delight, here are some sounds from the last century:

That brings back some good memories.

October 24, 2012 - Posted by | Tools and Toys

2 Comments

  1. I’m pretty sure you’re using a 3.5″ drive, not the much more elusive 3.25″ drive from the 80’s. 🙂

    Comment by Anonymous | May 10, 2013

  2. *hangs head in shame*
    *tears up geek card*
    *corrects post*

    Thank you.

    Comment by markegilbert | May 10, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

