Mark Gilbert's Blog

Science and technology, served light and fluffy.

iSelf 0.2

Over a week ago, I unveiled a project I’ve been working on tentatively called “iSelf”.  Since then, I’ve finished the rough versions of the software components (both the program that runs on the Arduino Micro, as well as the custom downloader for the device) , and and greatly refactored both. 

Late last week, I took delivery of the newest hardware components – a lithium ion polymer, or LiPo battery, and a PowerBoost 500c from Adafruit.  This morning, I hooked them both up to the iSelf prototype, and removed the set of AA batteries that I had been powering it with up to this point:

20

The “c” in the 500c stands for “charger”.  I can have a battery plugged in to power the device(battery shown at the top, center of the picture below) .

10

I can also plug in a microUSB charging cable (the black cable going off to the right of this picture), and simultaneously power the device and recharge the battery.

I have a couple of additional hardware components to work in (a power switch, and a couple of external LEDs), and probably a few additions to the software, but iSelf is nearly feature complete.  The next major tasks will be soldering the components down onto a single board, and then getting a case for it.

July 14, 2015 - Posted by | Embedded/Wearable, Science

1 Comment

  1. […] started by temporarily appropriating the microSD card I’ve been using for my wearable, and formatted it using the SD Association’s Formatting Tool.  Next, I downloaded the […]

    Pingback by Rover v2: Technical Breakdown « Mark Gilbert's Blog | August 7, 2015


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

